Sunday, 2 December 2018

REVIEW OF AAKASH AND AARTI

42632496



No of pages : 202

Published by Notion press

Published on: November 1st 2018

Genre; YA FICTION CONTEMPORARY ROMANCE DRUG ADDDICTION

Book links : GOODREADS  AMAZON 

Author's links Goodreads     Amazon 



My take


I have become a fan of Dr. Govind Sharma after having read his amazing books namely STATE VS AMRIT KUMAR , THE BREAK UP CLINIC and THE DEV ANAND STORY i.e film history of actor Dev Anand.

I thank Dr Govind Sharma for having sent me the free copy of the book for my review. When I have gone through the blurb I could grasp the theme of the book namely addiction to smack. Very rarely we  across books on  the same and this book handles it in a plain and heartening manner so as to strike the slogan SAY NO TO DRUGS in a louder tone .


The plot
The amazing book starts with a Prologue captioned HARIDWAR MAY 2018. There are 18 chapters and the backdrop is Rajapur during the period between 2016 - 18. Aakash who lost his mother within a few hours of birth is abandoned by his father. His grandfather a priest in
the Somani temple takes care of him.He lives in one .quarters allowed by Sharan Chacha. When he is studyingg in a Public school he falls a victim of a bad company resulting in doing drugs and betting on cricket matches. There he meets Aarti the youngest of five sisters in a very poor family. There develops  a friendship between them .


After finishing school studies Aakash joins a college whereas Aarti joins as a caretaker of Somani house. Basant Somani the industrialist falls as a prey to Aarti and she takes advantage of her ambition of becoming richer by shortcut route. His wife  Rajeswari beauty queen of Kolkata has got a soft corner for  Aakash and she tries to help him come out of his shackles of addiction to drugs.

There are so many knots to connect the Mcs with many incidents associated with drugs and sex. Questions arise as to whether Aakash comes out of his addiction and what is the fate of Aarti and others caught in the web of destiny.

The pro 

This is definitely a coming of age story of both the protagonists Aakash and Aarti who are the at the threshold of their youth. Their mysterious and secret trajectories would make a great impact on our mind.

This fast-paced tale of friendship, greediness, vices, and virtues would take you the real dark world wherein most of the activities of Mcs happen behind the screen. An interesting and engaging thriller with a strong connection of action and suspense giving an account of miseries they encounter.

It is a great challenge to the author to have a drug addict as the hero of the social drama and he is very much successful in creating sympathy for him in the reader's mind. There is a lot of power struggles, other supportive characters are feeling helpless. Acclimatized to the realm of opulence the characters get intertwined to move the story with all its messiness and intricacy. Memorable characters are the bright spots in a powerful plot.

The narration skill and the storyteller in the author are plus points which make the readers hooked to the novella. The twists and turns with unimaginable and impeccable knots serve as a sure page-turner.

Language is fluid and crisp. Charterers blend with the plot so nicely we can relate with their emotions.

This book is a fitting tribute to a drug addict and holds great messages which would touch the hearts of the readers, creating a new perspective on drug addicts. This great story of redemption, Character growth wherein the side characters also shine.

As this book targets the youth and elders there are many scintillating scenes which are not suitable for children. 

This book tells the story of a down to earth person to reality.The book gives a good insight into the workings of Hindu temples and rituals and cultures. 

Needless to say Of Aakash and Aarti is a classic page-turner loaded with entertainment with a contemplative and absorbing concept with hidden depth.

My favorite

Three important guidelines the book conveys for the drug addicts to come out of their addiction.

1. Change the environment 

2. Go for professional help or  get admitted in Rehab  centers meant for it.

3. Engage in   alternate   activities which are good for all.  

What I feel 

The mention about the sale of kidney  in the story does't fit logically. For the powerful message novel the cover is not so appealing.

My verdict.

As the book end with the slogan Say No to Drugs this book is a good  read by parents , teachers and youth. You can buy the book from the above link.

Score: 5/5

Disclaimer: I have received a free copy of  the book from the author in exchange of my honest and unbiased review . I have not received any monetary compensation for the above review. 


AUTHOR DR. GOVIND SHARMA ,IAS Retd.

Govind Sharma



Photo taken from GoodReads








Sunday, 25 November 2018

SMILE STEPPING STONE FOR SUCCESS

  LIVE EVERYDAY FULLY AS     IF IT WERE  YOUR LAST
                                               Buddha
      
What if 

we smile and act , Don't we meet success always ?



Smiling invigorates our  spirit tranquilizes mind,buoy ups heart and produce an ecstatic chord of euphony  in others soul.The innocent  and invaluable  smile of the kids is alluring us  to intoxicate us like the fragrance of the flowers and the evening breeze.
Wise people say those who don’t smile should never open a shop. It attracts others like magnet drawing iron  . Service with smile is a sweet mantra of service- orientated corporate firms.It is contagious and makes the atmosphere pleasant and delightful.

The best time we should smile is when we get up in the morning. We should look into the mirror and say to ourselves with a smile “ The day is going to be great”.  

If we smile whenever we meet our friends and relatives we spur on friendliness and fondness.
When we come upon  our friends or relatives  after a long time , we  exchange  pleasantries , we extend our right hand to shake (not Golden handshake ) and smile.
Some people use to hug them as a token of respect and regard. If we meet elders, we use to lie down flat to seek their blessings.In Japan when people meet others they bow their head  exhibiting their humility.

Say a louder NO with a big SMILE

 My colleague , in the office, a happy-to-go-shrewd guy is having the habit  always smiling when we are behind the counters servicing the customers. I use to look at him awestruck as he does not get provoked easily and always keep his cool and temperament . 

When we are working together at the counters I observe him as a good student taking a lesson from his teacher. His way of tackling the unreasonable ,unethical and illogical demands of the customers is exemplary .


With a smile he would be conversing with the clients in such a way to making reason out and  fathom why he is helpless. He would handle any situation with great aplomb and equanimity in a diplomatic and prudent way  so as to avoid any confrontation ,argument , dispute or disappointment .


Smile when the situation warrants.

We should not smile at strangers as they may misconstrue as mockery or they take as nincompoops. It is better we keep a restraint to smile always. Suppose if we go to any office for one or other transaction, we may come upon unknown persons. We can smile at them .They would also feel comfortable with us and extend a helping hand.
Thunbam varungal naguga - A Tamil proverb.
It is to mean that we should laugh when the mishap strikes us.   Nowadays Psychologists stress  that we should not curtail  the negative emotions as life has got its own ups and downs .We have to express our agony and anguish by wailing.

We are not robots.We take a pledge to fill the air with ecstasy utilizing the melodious music of smiling. We fill the atmosphere full of  hopefulness , harmony and joy with our grinning ear to ear.

When we entertain nefarious , wrong and negative thoughts we pour out a plastic or fake  smile . As such if we hold positive and right thoughts of optimism . hopefulness, and compassion our smile would be a beguiling and genuine matter.

Sumptuous smile secures success 

Youngsters want to connect  with others always by roaming in the  on-line world.  In the social media like Face-book ,Twitter and whatsApp they are active and use the  Smiley to express their emotions like happiness and sadness.
Always we make sure to flaunt our joy through smiling Smiley.


This post is a part of Write Over the Weekend



an initiative for Indian Bloggers by BlogAdda.’ 

Sunday, 18 November 2018

Shrink not children's space

Featured post on IndiBlogger, the biggest community of Indian Bloggers 
Free Earth Day 2014 Animated Clip Art Download - Free Quotes


Courtesy 

"There are children everywhere but not childhood “ , a saying I  come upon reading an article , and how real it is. In our neighborhood there is a family, the only male member of it  has gone abroad and his wife is a teacher in a nearby school.They have got two daughters aged 7 and 5. Her sister a college professor  is residing adjacent to our place along with her husband , a businessman and daughter 3 years old.

Since all go to their work and the granny takes care of the kids when they return from the school in the evening.They take rest or play after taking milk and snacks. They may sometimes do the homework or spend time enjoying a cartoon on the TV.


They always need to play and fun is part of their growth. But the reality is that they don't get the space  and it results in many a psychological and emotional problem.

  Once Children's mother narrated an incident to me which  opened her eyes in respect of her concern for the children. 

One day  she took permission and returned home early. In her house, one room supposed to be a storeroom is kept locked always.When she asked about the children her mother   replied that they went out to play with other children in the garden. She wanted to check the mail from his hubby and She turned the key in the lock  and opened the door of the store room wherein a laptop was kept. 

To her astonishment she found her daughters and her sister's daughter sitting in the corner   looking  at the screen of the laptop   and the room was dark.Actually, the room was kept locked always but  her mother  opened it and forgot  to close it. When the children came in the room it was ajar they entered into the room and decided to spend some time with the laptop which their grandma did   not notice  and locked it without their knowledge.


Immediately their mother  shouted and asked the children  to shut down the laptop and come out of  the room. 

She asked me, “Uncle I feel very bad about this, and I don't know   how to solve it.” 

I have explained to her about the significance of  golden hours of children especially in the evening when they return from the school they should be taken care of nicely and they should be provided with  SPACE they require for their well being and growth physically and mentally.

I asked her”Why do you allow children to access laptop?’
She replied,” Out of necessity. I have instructed my elder daughter to learn the basics so that she can attend her father's  mails and sometime she would call him  through SKYPE in the event of an emergency. “

I said, “OK. But this is not the age to leave the kids to operate it independently without the supervision of an adult member. Like doublededged sword internet also to be treated with care otherwise we have to face unnecessary  problems"

.I continued," We cannot blame your mother, she would forget things  due to old age and not aware of the problems associated with laptop and Internet. Even they play games through it they become addictive and their academic progress is affected"

I  suggested, “you make out a password to open the Laptop and never disclose it to  your children till they attain a particular age they should not be allowed to handle laptop without your monitoring their activities. You can also tell your hubby to contact you over the phone if there is an emergency.See that the laptop is  kept not within the reach of the children. You can arrange tuition for them so that they spend time with purpose."

She has taken my advice and I hope she would go by it for the sake of their children.

This post is a part of Write Over the Weekend, an initiative for Indian Bloggers  by BlogAdda


Thursday, 15 November 2018

REVIEW OF THE ALL SEEING DIGITAL EYES

Featured post on IndiBlogger, the biggest community of Indian Bloggers 

 42051930



No of pages:  173

Published by: Self

Published on:  September 20th 2018

Genre: Non fiction Self help  Internet Digital security


ISBN
1720184135 (ISBN13: 9781720184133)


Booklinks :Goodreads    Amazon 

Author's links: Goodreads   Amazon           
                             







My take 
An amazing and timely relevant book. The title has got my attention and I have requested the author for a copy of the book. I thank the author for having sent me the book in PDF form. As the title suggests the book deals with the eyes that are observing our digital journey when our eyes are glued to the smart phone or laptop screen.


WHEN we are active in the cyber realm, there are so many persons watching our activities and there is all the possibility of manipulation, abuse or misuse  by some of them. Our negligence and  overindulgence in the social media and Internet related platforms may lead us to mishaps or loss affecting us physically and mentally.

We have to develop  a critical thinking attitude which idea is highlighted in this book.Also, parents should take some precautionary measures so that their teen aged children don’t fall prey to their own mistakes and blunders by giving all the personal details.  

The All Seeing Digital Eyes by Neville J Kattakayam is a tremendous book for all netizens and others who want to learn about the digital arena.

Social media, Internet and the use of smart phones have become an essential and integrated part of our lives.

 They have become lifetime companion for our young people as well as others .On reading this book you fathom the nature and vulnerability  of the cyber world and you would be able to safeguard yourself from unwanted threats. Your reckless navigations on the online world should   not land you in any sort of trouble.  . 


The author has crafted an excellent resource for all netizens and the knowledge  he imparts would stay with you to prevent you from becoming victims to perpetrators of cyber world and ensure your digital wellbeing .

The author advises us to be careful and cautious about the ill effects that can be avoided if we act with care. He narrates   many dangers, pitfalls, and risks which we may encounter due to our surfing  sans prudence. 

Using a liberal dose of anecdotes, examples of real-life experiences that we can relate to, the author warns us to be aware of loss due to the wrong choices. We should become tech-savvy enough to have a safe online trajectory.

The book is written in first Person and the writing style is easy to follow. The technical jargon may see to be alien to readers but the language used is simple to make any layman understand what the author wants to tell.

The plan
The nuggets of knowledge would be useful to you in your personal life when you go through the virtual world.

There are three parts titles being 1. Technology stack 2 .Threats to you while the online and 3.Take control.

From the Internet, the book discusses all the subjects like Trolling, Doxing,Bullying hacking etc. The book covers DarkNet also .It warns about the Home Wi-Fi a sweet spot that cyber criminals could try to attack  targeting you.



There are tips for you and parents on various prevetive measures. The author has written this book with a idea to enlighten his daughter and hence the book may seem to target parents with teen age children and all should read this book to get awareness about  the internet and it's dangers.



Top 3 tips for safe online journey.



Create an Avatar -which represents the real you, but do not directly link up to you




If it is for free , then YOU are the Product

Explain to your children abut Stranger Danger and the dangers of radicalization early on .

There are spelling mistakes and the book needs some more editing . Language is good and it could be better.


There are totally  19 chapter

My favorite are
We are Data
Revenge porn
Your online persona

Overall this intresting and informative  book has come at this contemporary atmosphere   when there are so many issues,  problems and sufferings come into light owing to the lack of  proper knowledge of Internet and digital world .

A quick and must read by all who work on line and off line,  so as to make a safer and secure  journey in the cyber realm.



My score 4/5


Disclaimer. I have received a free PDF copy of the above book in exchange of my honest and unbiased review .I have not received any Monetary compensation for the same.



Neville J Kattakayam


Author photo taken from Good reads 

Sunday, 4 November 2018

Fun is playful

People, Children, Child, Happy, Kids Playing, Cute


If we treat our life as a game, there would be a lot of fun. If we observe children playing we can see them to have their own rules and regulations which  in no time they formulate. We  look at children playing with paper boats when it rains and when their boats sink in the water running in the street  they clap and laugh.

They fight for the same toy. Their playfulness astonish  us and they are mischievous enough to make us guffaw.Child cries for toys and man dies for rewards.

When we grow up we lose our original childhood mentality ,we miss the track and become serious about our life. Only a few of us are capable of taking their childish attitude even though they have reached a stage of adulthood.     

In our office ,there was a  staff member who got the inclination to crack jokes and we used to laugh along with him.When you play antics with  others you have to be careful about how far you can go as it may result in awkward situations and lead to unpleasant consequences if the persons at the recieving end don't take it sportive.

Some might say it is wrong to make fun of others as this may lead to misunderstanding and the person who is made fun of may feel hurt. Hence it is always better to be fun to a limited extent and at tolletance level. 

Let us call my buddy T who is able to create pranks to make others laugh and have a pleasant time.

In our office, we got an adding machine and there would be paper roll thrown here and there. Some wasted paper would be lying there.  T took one long  piece ,with a safety pin he tied it  to the   the back side of the pant  of the person without his knowledge who got engrossed in his work. It would  look like a tail of a monkey.   When he got up and walked we all noticed it and burst into laughter. He would walk like a king. Only after coming to see the paper roll attached to his backside he   tried to beat our T as he knew he was the person to indulge in such sort of antics. 

 We got an intercom service and our T called another staff. He told him he got a training programme at a distant place in the coming month. He changed his tone  and told him in an authoritative manner. The staff  believed it and called for the railway agent to book the ticket Later on we suggested him to check up with HR official and he came to know how he was fooled off.  


We used to have a dinner party now and then among ourselves on the occasion of any celebration. Usually, it would be our personal get together and it would be confined to our own members.

 Once our T arranged a party. We were not given the full details.

 Having assembled in the hall we were introduced to the new couple.  The couple, we meant the person who served us tea in the morning and evening  and his wife who got married recently.He prepared tea and coffee in his house and brought to the office. He was not an employee like us but he was associated with us for a long time and he became so close to be called a family member. He was a a nice person and we were all very much friendly with him. Actually, when he entered our office someone would be shouting "Hot water arrives" mocking at the quality of tea . With smiling face he would take it in jovial mood.

The party was arranged by our T and he offered us snacks and tea. We collected an amount and gave him a gift.He and his wife felt very happy. Their parents also came . A  few drops  of tears could be seen in his eyes as he was overwhelmed by our gesture of love and affection. 

T who could make fun of others has got a golden heart  to make others happy by sharing our joy .

Some might say that it is wrong to lose our seriousness in our lives and not to be playful but it is right to make fun of ourselves,our mistakes shortcomings and failures and move on.. These memories bring us joy and cheerfulness.

Not only we have to upgrade our fun quotient but also update it to sail through storms with easy and smooth  sailing as life has got it's own ups and downs.A little fun now and then here and there would give a great soothing effect in our otherwise demanding and stressful life. 

This post is a part of Write Over the Weekend, an initiative for Indian Bloggers by BlogAdda

Monday, 29 October 2018

Review of VASEEGARA NADU

Featured post on IndiBlogger, the biggest community of Indian Bloggers
37219440






No of pages :   416

Published by :Notion press

Published on :October 15 th 2018

Book links : Goodreads   Amazon 
  
Author's links :  Goodreads  Amazon 

Genre : YA Fantasy Political thriller 




 My take


 After having read, an IT professional- turned author Samura's previous books namely Silconpururm and Semmari   he has become my favorite author. 


My sincere thanks to him for having sent me a free review copy of Vaseegara Nadu .which is a fitting tribute to DR. A P J Abdul Kalam.


First few pages of Vaseegara Nadu have slowed my reading as a lot of descriptions have gone into covering the details of backdrop of  sea and the land nearer to the sea and also a new race of people living in the natural surroundings. Afterward, I quicken the pace as the story unfolds with subplots like  layer after layer in an amazing gait..


I am overwhelmed by the raw, deeply creative and dark story of valour, revenge, loyalty friendship, enmity, violence, deceitfulness ,battles, and defeats. that would blow you away.


This mind-blowing novel is a mix of fantasy and fairy tale with a realistic feel. 
It is amazingly gritty, savage and heroic fantasy novel that gives all the thrill and excitement. The beautiful story in the harsh imaginative setting has got a sure edge to hook the readers.



The Plot.

This lengthy 416 pages book carries 25 chapters each has got a caption.Its a story of a greediness of a tyrant king of one nation to  capture another kingdom.


The story begins with Koran a ruthless pirate saving a child abandoned by his parents. He christens him Vadumaran. He grows along with his biological son Porimudi. Once they go to the river all alone and Porimudi is caught by a bird Purasura.He has lost his left eye and left leg.


Porimudi reads a lot and learns to guide Vadumaran in several war strategies. In the meantime, they lose their parents. They capture Koranadu with the help of pirates and rule the country.They always try to go for war with  other countries. Vadumaran marries Udayavarasi and they have got a son namely Eladheeran.


Deivasenar a learned guru teaches youngsters all the training for fighting. Vadumaran sends his son Elamaran for learning the skills. Senganal is the only son of Deivasenar.


In the meantime, Vadumaran comes to know about Vaseegara Nadu and decides to fight for the same. 


What is the beauty and greatness  of Vaseegara Nadu? whether Vadumaran succeeds in his endeavors? How they are powered to fight with the opponent? What are the special powers used by the soldiers of Vaseegara Nadu?

So many questions arise and you have to read the book for the answers.


The Pro


The title Vaseegara Nadu and the Subtitle Kanporai Cavarum are eye-catching and the beguiling cover with the images of the two  warriors on the background of the fort is alluring.

The simple  and neat language , writing are good and the narrative prose is the sure page-turner. Once I start to read the book pages fly. The political drama with all the twists and turns includes all the vibes, sentiments and feelings.


The extraordinary power of MCs by taking the form of an animal mainly Crab and Tortoise is depicted with dexterity and prudence..Not only children but also adults would enjoy the tale. Especially the fighting scenes where the warriors change their power is shown in a grand manner. The author has done a great job on this facet.


The fast-paced novel leaves you so engaging to it you won't find a place where it drags. When the knots are unfurled you would feel how intriguing and interesting they are.  As a fantasy writer, the author has lived in the realm of imagination to weave a magical story. The scientific and technical adventures at the time of war would  astound you. Its a story sans boring elements with memorable characters and a riveting plot.

The creativity the evocative language and the quick change of scenes are the reason to experience a benign read. The characters so etched out nicely .you like a guy for all his wit and wisdom, but he dies by the attack of a prudent foe. The gory, bloody with a great deal of realism fights in the arena remind you those fought in the battlefield with ferocity and unexpected finish.

The author has tackled the nitty-gritty of creating a fantasy world of new races with magical powers.
The largest world of imagination with a complex sense.The destiny of one affects other's trajectory leading to the movement of the story with all the terror and horror.


Also the Eco-freindly attitude of the author reflects in all the scenes highlighting the natural resources and the love for animals.
My favorite


I like the following chapters

1. Vaseegara Nadu

2.Ethirani

3. Karpour


Characterwise I admire both Senganal and Aravika. I like the way the guru trains his students and the competitions they face would astonish. The unethical methods of Vadumaran and Porimudi  make me hate them. Among the supportive characters I like Deivasenar ,Gnani  and Kavarathevan.

So many wise messages are sprinkled throughout the book.
The succinct blurb gives an account of the nice story  The font , paper quality and the printing are so good ,it makes the reading easy.


What I feel

How on the battlefield the soldiers belonging to the Kora Nadu can fight and simultaneously dig pits to conceal themselves in the night without the notice of the opponents?  

A map would be a fitting addition and the drawings in color would be a great attraction.

My verdict.

Definitely, the book is great on the entertainment quotient and it would  give a great read for fans of fantasy novel belong to all generations. The author has put in all the efforts utilizing his scientific and technical knowledge to include so many ideas and informations to engage us through the novel. This is one of the rarest of the rare book in Tamil in fantasy genre it would engage children, youth and elders as there are many thrillers and romance I novels.

The concept is executed so nicely to give an edge of the script for a movie.

A must read by fantasy fans and others also would enjoy the novel.

Don't wait.Grab the copy from the above link and pamper yourself with a treat of fantasy. 


My Score : 5/5

Disclaimer: I have received  the free copy of this book from the author in exchange of my honest and unbiased review and I have not received any monetary  compensation for the same.

REVIEW OF AAKASH AND AARTI

No of pages : 202 Published by Notion press Published on: November 1st 2018 Genre; YA FICTION CONTEMPORARY ROMANCE DRUG ADDDICTIO...