Friday, 14 September 2018

Cover reveal PARADISE TOWERS

Cover reveal



EXCLUSIVE COVER REVEAL :
SHWETA BACHCHAN - HANDA'S 
PARADISE TOWERS  


Let's  enjoy this week end happily - with a cover reveal !Sheweta Bachchan-Handa, whose debut novel that explores  a   romance at the back drop of Cosmopolitan city Mumbai.

About the book 

Dinesh opens the door to the Kapoor flat to find Lata, the enchantress who works at Mrs Aly Khan’s, carrying a hot case with freshly made gaajar ka halwa. On the first floor, the inquisitive Mrs Mody wipes the dust off her precious binoculars to spy on the building’s security guard. The Singhs open the doors of their SUV, their four boys creating a ruckus – they are the newcomers, the outsiders. Through the peephole, the ever-watchful Mrs Ranganekar observes their arrival. Welcome to Paradise Towers, an apartment building in central Mumbai. Everyone here has a story to tell. Or maybe they have stories to hide.
Shweta Bachchan-Nanda’s quirky, intimate debut explores the intertwined lives in this building – a forbidden romance, an elopement, the undercurrents of tension in corridor interactions and an explosive Diwali celebration. Shweta Bachchan-Nanda’s is a dazzling voice that will draw you into the intoxicating, crazy world that is Paradise Towers.

Speaking about how she came to write Paradise TowersShweta Bachchan-Nanda said, ‘I grew up with my grandfather who was a poet and a writer. Writing and reading was always a very important part of our lives. I’ve been writing a diary ever since I was a little girl, and wrote stories that I never shared with anyone. Then, one day I just said, I am going to take this plunge. I started writing a column for a newspaper in Mumbai and it gave me a lot of confidence to go ahead and do this full time, and that’s where Paradise Towers comes from.’
Karan Johar, renowned filmmaker, further added, ‘Observant, moving, hilarious and exceptionally astute... Paradise Towers is no slice of life...it's an entire loaf. Shweta “builds” her debut novel with the ease of a literary veteran. Go find your Paradise between these pages!’
Shreya Punj, Assistant Editor, HarperCollins India, who acquired the book, said, ‘I fell in love with the story when I first read it. Now,Paradise Towers is ready to meet its readers, and I cannot wait for people to fall in love with this quirky, intimate world Shweta has created. We’re proud to be publishing her debut – it’s fresh, insightful and a story that will resonate with everyone.’

Now...... 

the .....

cover .....


.....

.....




About the author
Shweta Bachchan-Nanda is a columnist for DNAand Vogue. A well-known personality, she is the daughter of actors Jaya and Amitabh Bachchan. Shweta is married to Nikhil Nanda and is the mother of two children. She has her own clothing label, MxS, which launched in 2018. She lives in New Delhi. This is her first novel.




.........

So nice , Paradise Towers will be out on 10th October 2018. And for more cover reveals click here

For more information  please 
Contact 
Shabnam.Srivastava@harpercollins.co.in

BOOK LINKS : Amazon   Flipkart  Goodreads
I sincerely thank Writersmelon for having  given me the opportunity to associate myself with this cover reveal 

Sunday, 9 September 2018

CELEBRATIONS FOLLOW WHEN WE FORGIVE



CELEBRATE THE JOY OF FORGIVING 


Celebrations bring joy and happiness, mirth and merriment, ecstasy and euphoria. They flaunt our sense of belonging among ourselves and the affinity affability, love, and affection we have got for each other. They give a benign break to our otherwise monotonous and mundane life and ask us to STAND AND STARE at the beauty of living. They are the occasions to display our respect for the elders and they create opportunities to develop the bond among the youth.

These celebrations which arise due to festivals or on account of special events like birthday etc they give an opportunity to relax and enjoy the finest moments of life and leave memories to relish at the later period. They are meant for bolstering social harmony and the effects are totality external.

Our mind also requires a season of celebrations as it is as good as a garden. It is to be protected from evil thoughts and groomed by the noble ideas so that we live with peace and happiness. For this internal serenity and blissfulness, we need celebrations.The quality of forgiveness paves way for many a celebration and coupled with forgetfulness it assures us maximum tranquility. 

There are circumstances and situations which mean to spoil our relationships and there is a necessity to forgive the offenders. For some mistakes you choose to forgive the person, you feel relieved from your mental agony you experience due to such unpleasantness and you get a good sleep. Whereas you are stubborn not to forgive those who act against you-you harbor all the evil thoughts the ultimate sufferer is your self and you are paying a higher price for your seamless life.

Life gives only one chance to live in this world and between our birth and death we cannot go on pondering over the unfortunate things that happen due to the unmindful acts and words of others. It becomes an essential part of our growth in the path of wisdom to forgive and forget so that we move on the positive manner and keep our social life happy and peaceful.

At this juncture, I recollect an event that has happened in my life when I was studying in primary school. If I remember correctly I was studying 6th standard and in our class, there was a practice. Whenever a student commits a mistake or forgets to do his homework the student sitting next to him would give a knock on his head with his closed fist.

Once it so happened I could not give a correct answer to a particular question and the teacher asked my co-student sitting beside me to give a knock on my head. Immediately my buddy gave a knock on my head and drops of ink spilled over my white shirt as he knocked me with the fountain pen without the cap  which he was holding between his fingers. He  forgot to place the pen on the bench and this resulted in leaving  blue batches on my shirt.

First I was shocked and tears started to well up in my eyes. Other students began to laugh and both of us came to our senses. My buddy's look  pleaded guilty and asked me to pardon him. Then we also joined the fun and I said it was ok. After the class ended he again  asked me to forgive and I consoled him that it was not done wantonly and I did not take it seriously. 

This incident has opened my eyes in myriad aspects.There is no motive or planned attempt as I know my buddy well. Nothing can be done once there was a mishap or injury both physically and mentally. If we think it doesn't require so much thinking it is better we forgive and forget. Afterward, whenever we meet we use to recollect the incident and laugh at ourselves for the mishap. I feel this is a healthy trend and it enriches the relationship. If I shout and make a scene there is no end. He has realized his mistake and apologized. It is only humane to forgive and forget. We need not be bestial to react with the tit for tat attitude which worsens the situation.

Yes, the damage is done but there is nothing to escalate and expose.If we think that our self-esteem is affected and make a mountain out of a mole what is the benefit?

Life is full of laughter, excitement, and adventure, but peace and joy belong to those who forgive and forget. It is no magic or mystery but the basic realities lead us to the glorious realm resulting in perfect harmony in our social life. 

Forgiveness cheers you up, pacifies you down. It warms you up and makes you cool down and its effects are supreme. You look great and for your well being and mental health, you should try to forgive and forget. This should integrate into your system so as to improve your quality of life and feel amazing all day long


WE DESERVE PEACE OF MIND
WE NEED SOUND SLUMBER
WE SHOULD BE BALANCED 
IF WE FORGIVE AND FORGET 
WE ASSURE OURSELVES CELEBRATIONS
OF ALL THE ABOVE  

Sunday, 26 August 2018

Review of KILLER MOVES


Killer Moves by Varsha Dixit














Kindle edition

No of  pages: 468

Published on :18th June 2018

 ASIN B07DGKFYBZ

Book links   Goodreads Amazon 

Author's links Goodreads  Amazon 

Genre: YA Crime thriller Psycho Contemporary  


My take


I sincerely thank Varsha Dixit for having sent me E Arc  the review copy.Also I thank Rubina Ramesh for helping me to  reach her.

 Serial killers are making a favorite villain of suspense novels owing to the danger they pose and remaining enigma to all concerned. More victims followed by investigation all take you to the edge of the seat experience.

I like such type of thrillers not only for the goosebumps they give but also several ideas, lessons, modes - operandi and messages they convey through the story.

Killer Moves by Varsha Dixit is an alarming and exciting tale totally tearing that leaves the readers shocked and surprised at the end. Crafted with a fervor that is both boisterous and compassionate this is an intricate and powerful novel., 

Yea, you are correct about the title. Killer moves to tell that the killer is not only moving but also making moves.

The cover design is apt for the genre.

There are totally 98 chapters ending with an Epilogue.

Driven by anxiety and love, Aisha daughter of 66-year-old retired Supreme Court Judge working in the media world leaves for Panaji to save her 20-year-old niece Kiara Khatri aka Kia who has gone there to attend a calendar photo shoot as she is a model. she thinks she is in danger which fact she realizes from the gift ESP buffet and telepathic senses to connect with dead and even with the dying.

There she meets  Kabir Rana tall and handsome originally a prince belonging to a royal family at Sirsa presently running his ad agency. Vikas is his assistant.

In the chapter 14 SSP Parth Mangal CBI enters into the police headquarters Panaji Goa to investigate about the two unsolved murders of young women raped and strangled.  A serial killer is on the prowl and there is all the likelihood of fresh murders in the near future.

Jacob a jovial driver of the police Gypsy accompanies him as per the order of the Commissioner Meisha. Parth  meets Dr. Madhuri Lorso the chief Examiner at A.S. Mortuary and asks about the details of the victims.


Since Aisha is a Board-certified Behavior Analyst she joins Parth to nab the serial killer. Already there is an attempt to kill Kiara she has got a vested interest in cracking the mystery. Their journey to unravel the knots how far and hard they find the truth and how many secrets come into light form the rest of the tale.

How the CBI officer investigates the case forms the core part of the novel. It is replete with situational comedy and a series of unexpected horrible incidents. taking place at regular intervals.

The end decides who wins and who loses.

The enormously interesting story of characters at many levels of struggles and challenges.

Masterful in every part it is a hot best seller.

This story deals with  peculiar activities of persons addicted to   fetish, unwed mothers eccentric people like pedophile and  necrophilia belonging to the   dark side of the society.      

A Sinister thriller with ample turns and twists and it is a sure roller-coaster ride.

For the murder mystery genre, supporting characters also need to play an important role to keep them engaged and this novel doesn’t disappoint on this front.


 The story progresses at a good pace and never seems to be stretched. This book can be reread as it reveals many profound thoughts that can linger in your mind for a long time.

This articulately- written book has got a wonderful coherency to it. The narrative proceeds in a fluency which is amazing

There are a plethora of characters and all fit into their roles perfectly. Aisha the protagonist has impressed me a lot. She is at her best in reading between the lines and other skills. Also, I like  the romance between her and Kabir. 

I admire  Kabir for his devotion to his profession and simplicity albeit he belongs to a royal family.

This story has myriad of angles and the plot is panoptic with all the subplots leading to the unexpected convergence. 

This strong daring novel is to be read by fans of thrillers. Recommended to those readers looking for the thrill and read an interesting adult contemporary novel.

My score: 5/5

 Disclaimer: I have received the Kindle copy from the authoress free in exchange of  my honest and unbiased review and I  have NOT received any  monetary gain for the same.  

Monday, 13 August 2018

Review of LOLITA

40082949

Kindle edition

Published on:  May 8th 2018

Book links: Goodreads  Amazon 

Author s links: Goodreads  Amazon 

Genre: YA Fiction Romance Social Drama 

My take 

Every girl has to pass through an essential  phase of her life when she is nubile to settle in her life by getting into the institution of marriage in our country.
 For parents also it is a duty when they have to  arrange for the same. At this juncture, it may so happen things would divert into an unplanned direction giving all the joy or pain to them according to the way it has happened.

Lolita, the  charming  protagonist due to choosing her own trajectory  to become  an actress  while her orthodox  parents are arranging for her marriage, the social drama develops into an interesting and engaging one so that  you can get your hands on this novella.

On seeing the cover one might mistake it to YA fiction with adult content but it is a mixture of emotions, sentiments, and relationships.

The heartrendering story starts with an accident that takes place at the curve of the main road that connects Lolita 's house to the jungle at Panchgani when she has taken a stroll and she has escaped unhurt but Advait Rana a web designer behind the steer of his car gets wounded.

Lolita helps him to recover and love blooms between them.  She comes to know about his family. His wife Pari has committed suicide due to depression and he is living with their daughter Simone. His sister Aachal helps them at this turbulent days. Simone suffers from temporary muteness and hence as a single parent, he is very much protective of her.

Lolita shares with him her tale from the day she leaves Kumbakonam her native place a town in South India along with Sandy a famous director in the Bollywood. She becomes a celebrity and develops a live in relationship with Sandy.

A secret in Sandy ’s life shatters her dreams. She leaves Mumbai and comes to Panchgani. What is the secret that haunts her?

Have her parents  come to term with her after they know about her career in the tinsel realm?  What has happened to love between her and Advait and how  Simone reacts to the same?

Answers to these questions form the rest of the story. This is the first book I have read through Kindle device and I am glad to say I am fully satisfied with the concept and execution.

The storyline may be tenuous but very sensual and entertaining. The characters are realistic and you can relate to them. The narrative prose is sure page-turner. The descriptiveness of scenes wherein  Lolita and Advait sexual encounters are given in detail is scintillating.  The language fits the mood and the pace is steady to hook you.

There are sufficient knots  to make the reading an amazing experience .

This captivating story of secrets betrayal pressures love and joy would enthrall you .

The authoress has crafted a nice tale that would definitely make an impact in you.


This book is meant for those YA fiction lovers wherein the story revolves around a great actress.

My rating :4/5

Disclaimer: I have received the E-book from the author free in exchange for my honest and unbiased review and I have not received any monetary benefit for the same. 

Saturday, 21 July 2018

Review of HOPE AND SUNSHINE


40699245



No of pages : 199

Published by: Power publishers

Published on: 28th June 2018

Genre:  YA Fiction Romance Contemporary 

Book links: Goodreads    Amazon 


Author's links : Goodreads 

My take 

Debasmita Nath Ghosh's HOPE AND SUNSHINE is a fantastic romantic story of Naina Grover a Punjabi lady from Delhi  . It tells  her tale of love, joy, frustration ,tragedy and dilemma . It is a woman centric subject and talks about  working Ladies,' hope to achieve anything  in the male dominated corporate realm and keep a work-life balance.

The title HOPE AND SUNSHINE  and the flamboyant  cover design  flaunt the book as a romance fiction and it  is a typical love story told in a nice  manner.  The tale is depicted through the protagonist a young beautiful lady ,working professional  . The backdrop of the story is Kolkatta .

Charming and courageous Naina is working in a big firm holding a highly responsible  position.When she has pursued her  MBA she has met Ved  and  they have fallen  in love .After they have  completed their studies Naina joins a big firm in Kolkatta  and Ved Is working at Mumbai.

Even though they are living apart they contact over phone and always in touch with each other. 

Ved’s mother has got brain  tumour which is life threatening and he becomes busy with his mother's treatment.

Adtya, a handsome guy joins the firm where Naina is  working.as Zonal HR Manager. He is a bright chap and so much of pain hidden below the surface

 Arvind is Naina’s  Cousin brother. Since both Arvind and Aditya  have studied at MDI Gurgaon there they have become  buddies. 

Naina staying all alone in Kolkatta uses to frequent Arvind’s house . His  mom Massi is close to Naina. She is taking some crucial decisions that proves she is blessed with wisdom  which makes the rest of the story.

The tenuous and  fluffy plot revolves around the above MCs .  The blurb discuses about the hopes amidst of distance relationship and a family secret which haunts her a lot .

The language is good and the narrative prose makes you to turn the pages automatically 

When reading the book it seems we are seeing Hindi serial .

The pace is steady enough to make the reading a benign experience characters are realistic and very minimum.

What  I feel is that the events are very much predictable and there is no twists or turns to hook the readers. Strong sub plots could be added to  strengthen the main plot . The dialogues are  formal.

Also I like the character of Naina Grover as she resembles the woman belongs to the present
generation who want to achieve amidst of all the odds.

I like the following premise which  talks of generation gap as quoted in the book.

Every generation is better and yet worse than the previous one.  

The authoress has crafted a beautiful love story in a clean and neat way. It is a light read whoever  admires the social drama of love, and relationship. 

The book targets the urban women living in the  cosmopolitan atmosphere  especially working professional . It is a great entertainment to them . 

My score: 4/5

Disclaimer: I got the book as a part of the review program in Outset"

Saturday, 7 July 2018

INTERVIEW WITH SANTHOSH SIVARAJ AUTHOR OF THE BLUE MOON DAY



AUTHOR'S INTERVIEW

Hope , Happiness ,humour ,desires and dreams all become a life and when you read on the . duty, responsibility , tolerance  wit and wisdom  it gives all the  delight to fathom the complexity of life and aspire to achieve  a happy and  successful life.  When I read the book THE BLUE MOON DAY Five Men's Magical Discovery Enroute Life   it  has  made  me  laugh ,  cry  and muse over    the above thoughs .

The 5 stories in the best seller book  evoke the fire in our belly for making of  ordinary individuals  into extraordinary personalities. , giving all the vibes and entertainment .

The author of the book  Santhosh Sivaraj , a banker sailor,teacher,and entreprenuer having varied experience has penned this fantabulous book in an excellent manner.

Today I am giving  below the outcome of my candid chat with him wherein he tells about his passion  for writing  and life. I am honoured to feature his interview  in my blog.

Santhosh Sivaraj

Q Tell us about yourself apart from the author of THE BLUE MOON DAY   who is Santhosh Sivaraj?

I can answer your question in five adjectives
1.       Creative Dreamer
2.       Unconditional Lover
3.       Hard core Feminist
4.       Simplicity Seeker
5.       Arrogant Optimist


Q Say a few words about your book THE BLUE MOON DAY for the readers.

The Book “The Blue Moon Day” is about how one can make his ordinary life extraordinary. It aims at inspiring people at every walks of life by personally relating with the characters in the book and see life in a totally different perspective albeit beautiful. 

Q How you have got the motivation to write a book?

I have answered this in detail in the preface of my book which discusses about a tragic accident that made me reconsider my priorities in my life starting from writing this book.

Q How did you begin writing? Did you intend to become an author, or do you have a specific reason(s) for writing each book?

Becoming Author was never my plan. The only thing I believe which inspired me to write was to tell people something which they fail to see otherwise. I love to write different versions of life and bring out unique emotions in the readers. Apart from writing I believe I speak the same way.

Q Tell about your journey as a writer?

I believe a book is created by the author’s intellect and wisdom which he had developed over his life and not just the time he spends in front of his laptop. This way I think ii had a pretty interesting journey so far.

Q Your book THE BLUE MOON DAY carries 5 different stories on various backdrop. But the end relates to all of them. Have you decided the end and start the stories or vice Versa?

I must say that I had a different idea when I started writing the book but it took a different path during the course of the writing and finally ended up surprising myself. This way even enjoyed the twists and turns the book had to offer.

Q Who is your favorite author and what is your favorite book?

I don’t have any particular favouritte in general.

Q What are your hobbies apart from reading and writing?

I enjoy going on a long drive, trekking and playing sports of all kinds.

Q You seem to be well aware of the pulse of the youth   and elders in the present   era.  These lovely   and lively   stories have written from your own experience?    Which is the story you would feel most connected?

It is hard to choose a single story as my favouritte one however for the sake of the Interview I would like to go with the last story of my book named “The Heaven”. This perhaps is that one chapter which is deeper and to some extent divine and can be related by the people who have this seeking inside them.

Q Have you got writer’s block? If so how you have managed it?

I never got the writer’s block as I write it in my mind to start with  before getting it on the pages.

Q Any new project you are working on currently?

I am presently working on my second book and hope to release in the current year itself. 

Q Tell about the positive reviews   you cherish the most and the negative review if any and the way you have dealt with it?

Positive reviews were mostly the one who somehow took a kind a ownership on the book and felt a deep desire to make the book successful and not to let it disappear amidst the crowd. Getting well wishers like them is the first and the foremost success of the book.
So far I have not received any harsh reviews which had disturbed me but yes there were reviews questioning the characterization, pace of the book and the language used. I could not comment much on it as those were the point praised for as well by many of the reviewers.

Q Your book carries a lot of lessons and messages for the youth. The book is very relevant when the values are deteriorating.    Are you satisfied the way book has come?

A writer can never get satisfied with his book. Even today if you give me the book, I will end up changing something and feel better about it. However my real satisfaction came after I started getting the reviews which made me a contented person.

Q Tell about your experience with your publisher.


My publisher is Invincible Publishers and I had a great experience working with their dynamic young team who are spirited and focused.

Q What is the advice you would give to budding writers?

Write for yourself as that’s the only thing that matters in the end and this way you can never get carried away. 


Thank you so much for your forthright answers .I await  your next book.In the meanwhile I wish you all the success in all your endeavours.

Wednesday, 4 July 2018

Review of THE BLUE MOON DAY


Book Spotlight~ The Bluemoon Day by Santosh Sivaraj
Buy the book from Amazon


Blurb

Things were never the same for five ordinary individuals who got struck at cross roads and there was no way they can run back. They had no other choice but to take a plunge into their deepest fear and leave the rest to destiny. Their characters was tested out of their comfort zone and it witnessed abstruse results; a PhD scholar fights to win a pizza making contest and a tennis prodigy running for his life in a war torn , bloodied Island. 

Extreme circumstances and their consequences made these ordinary individuals extraordinary . Was the test imposed on them by someone? Or did they invite it on themselves. The Blue Moon Day is that Once in a Blue Moon day story which questions an individual’s priorities, ridicules the worldly routines and finally redefines happiness.

About Author


Santhosh Sivaraj , a banker based out of Chennai ,started his career as a sailor and eventually ended up wearing many hats in life including that of a teacher, entrepreneur and a trainer. He considers the journey of life to be the destination in itself and that pushes him to seek newer avenues in life every now and then. Absurd Economics interests him and he loves doing standup comedy. He laughs at his own mistakes and loves life unconditionally.

He believes in seeing with the mind , writing with the heart and living through others. This way he says one can live more life per life.




Instagram : @santhoshsivaraj
Twitter       : @santhoshsivaraj
Website     : www.santhoshsivaraj.com



The Blue Moon Day: Five Men's Magical Discovery enroute Life






Self help book comes in several forms..Telling stories to motivate and boost your inner strength is also a way of writing book on this genre.The tales are woven in such a manner to give advices and inspiring nuggets of wisdom. The reading of such books serves the double purpose of enlightenment as well as entertainment leading to empowerment.

Santhosh Sivaraj has crafted THE BLUE MOON DAY with powerful stroies of hope amidst of doubt and dismay peace and happiness inspite of strained relationship and forgiveness with heartening twists and turns.


There are totally 5 stories captioned in the following order.

THE PIZZA ENGINEER
THE MESSENGER
NOT TODAY
THE STORYTELLER
THE HEAVEN.

The last chapter THE BLUE MOON DAY carries the revelation of suspense that gives all the surprise as well as the latetst position of the main characters.


The Pizza Engeineer , Abhinav Sharma learns his lessons through Mr.Pillai who has to select him for a job. This story is told in a ludicrous manner I laugh a lot when I read this . 


The Messenger tells the story of Deepak and his love for Priya. This story starts with a humourous note and turns in to a social drama involving the strained relationship between the couple and how they manage to come out of the web forms the rest of the story.


Like this other stories also involve so much melodrama and struggles of Mcs are given in a nice way to make the reading a seamless and sober experience.The down to earth charectors are ethced so well we can easily relate to them. I like the language which is simple, fresh and direct. The beutiful narrative prose and the story teller in the author make the book a pageturner.


The most important philosphical and wise pearls which I want to jot down are as follows.


Study you before you study anything



Nature has his own way of conveying messages.



You can find your real individulaity only when you come out of this comfort zone.



If you decide to be happy , life identifis all the hidden happiness around you.


The pace is even and at no point of time it is dragged and there are suffienct twists and turns to engage yourself .


This book holds the stories  of ambition, willpower generation gap , happiness and sadness.This is a book for youngsters and elders who want to identfy the conteperory problems faced by them in their ordrinry course of life,

My favorite is the story of Sankaran an aged person physically weak but mentally strong who finds a new life.This would definitely  move your heart giving all the insights about old age challenges. 


  Both the title and coverdesign are fantastic. The strong blurb is also a fitting one.


I recommend this book to all who want to study self help messages through stories in the contemporary scenario.

A must read by the youth belong  to the present generation  .

My score:5/5 

Disclamer ;"I got the book as a part of the review program in Outset"

Cover reveal PARADISE TOWERS

Cover reveal EXCLUSIVE COVER REVEAL : SHWETA BACHCHAN - HANDA'S  PARADISE TOWERS   Let's  enjoy this week end ha...